Varyukhin Viktor Nikolaevich

Varyukhin Viktor NikolaevichDirector of the Institute since 1997 to 2019.

Varyukhin V.N. as born on March 29, 1952 in Krasnoarmeysk, Donetsk region (USSR). In 1974, he graduated from Donetsk State University, Dept. of Physics, with honors. After he had served with the military, he studied at the post-graduate courses of Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering of AS of USSR АН УССР. Since 1978, the activity of Varyukhin V.N. became inextricably related to Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering.  Here he passed from a junior researcher to the Director. In 1979, he passed Ph.D. defense and in 1990 he becomes a Dr. of Sci. Since 1991 he was the Head of Dept. of hydroextrusion of continuous profiles. In 1996 he became the Deputy Director on Science. Since 1997 to 2019 he was the Director of Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering named after A.A. Galkin. Since April 2019 to February 2021, V.N. Varyukhin is Vice-Minister of Education and Science of Donetsk People’s Republiс.  

Dr. of Science in Physics and Mathematics (1991), professor (1999), corresponding member of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2009), Honored master of Sciences and Engineering of Ukraine (2007).

Winner of academic awards named after G.V. Kurdyumov (2002) and I.N. Frantsevich (2011). In 2010, scientific community of Russian Federation awarded Medal of Honour for Transcendent Merit in Physical Material Science after academician G.V. Kurdyumov to him.

Founder of scientific school of nanophysics and nanotechnologies at DonIPE.

Being the youngest director at the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, he headed the institute at a difficult moment for the country and the science. Due to proactive attitude, unity of purpose,  hard-working nature he came off rising crisis trends in the life of the institute, retained the scientific staff, renovated the spirit of creativity. Being the Director, Viktor Nikolaevich formed atmosphere of creativeness, solved a lot of complex problems of organization to provide remained and reinforced positions of the Institute in the branch of physics of high pressure.

He is known by pioneer work in the area of Physics of high pressure, metal physics, superconductivity, physics of nanomaterials.

Scientific activity of V.N. Varyukhin is related to the study of the behavior of the materials under high pressure, design of technologies and equipment on this basis. It is characterized by organic combination of fundamental problems to be solved and practical application of the obtained results. As results of his researches, dissipative phenomena in stressed inhomogeneous crystals were studied and the theory of their plasticity was derived; the mechanisms of deformation and fracture of functional materials of different nature were identified. V.N. Varyukhin contributed much to design of physical basis of material science of high-nitrogen austenitic steels. Promising methods of production of finished and semifinished products characterized by a high level of physical and mechanical properties were put into practice. A series of works related to structural modification of polymers allowed finding new physical phenomena and development of technological processes to obtain materials with enhanced or new features. The technologies of production of varied shape memory items including those with irreversible increase in volume should be mentioned here.

V.N. Varyukhin headed extensive studies of new methods of formation of nanocrystal states in materials and fixation of the conditions of their stability. He developed a new approach to formation of a nanocrystal state of functional materials by high pressure that attracted an attention of world scientific community.  This achievement was confirmed by contracts with well-known organizations like “Los Alamos National Laboratory”, “General Electric”, “Boeing” (USA) etc.

Head of a research area at SCST of Ukraine (1991 — 1996). Research supervisor of a number of scientific projects within the frameworks of targeted programs of state and departmental range, joint projects of Russian Fund of Fundamental Research. Member of Expert Board of Committee of State Prizes of Ukraine in Science and Technics (2010 — 2014).

Since 1999, Chief Editor of scientific journal Physics and High Pressure Technology, published by DonIPE.

V.N. Varyukhin is the author of more than 20 monographs and textbooks, more than 330 scientific papers, 45 patents. 4 Doctors of Sci. and 8 Ph. Doctors are his students. He initiated organization of Department of theoretical physics and nanotechnologies at Faculty for Physics and Engineering of Donetsk National University and headed it since 2008 to 2020. His authority as a scientist is confirmed by the facts of membership of editorial boards of a number of homeland and international journals, participation in organization and program committees of international conferences and reports as an invited speaker.

Варюхин Виктор Николаевич

Варюхин Виктор НиколаевичДиректор института с 1997 г. по 2019 г.

Родился 29 марта 1952 года в г. Красноармейск Донецкой обл. (УССР). В 1974 году с отличием закончил физический факультет Донецкого государственного университета. После службы в рядах Советской Армии учился в аспирантуре Донецкого физико-технического института АН УССР. С 1978 года трудовая деятельность Варюхина В.Н. становится неразрывно связанной с Донецким физтехом. Здесь он прошел путь от младшего научного сотрудника до директора института. В 1979 г. защитил кандидатскую, а в 1990 г. – докторскую диссертацию. С 1991 г. – заведующий отделом гидроэкструзии непрерывных профилей, с 1996 г. – заместитель директора института по научной работе, с 1997 г. по 2019 г. – директор Донецкого физико-технического института им. А.А. Галкина. С апреля 2019 г. – Заместитель Министра образования и науки Донецкой Народной Республики.

Доктор физико-математических наук (1991 г.), профессор (1999 г.), член-корреспондент Национальной академии наук Украины (2009 г.), Заслуженный деятель науки и техники Украины (2007 г.).

Лауреат академических премий имени Г.В. Курдюмова (2002 г.) и имени И.Н. Францевича (2011 г.). В 2010 году награждён научной общественностью Российской Федерации Почетной медалью имени академика Г.В. Курдюмова «За выдающиеся заслуги в области физического металловедения».

Основатель научной школы нанофизики и нанотехнологий в ДонФТИ.

Возглавив институт в непростой для страны и, в особенности, для науки период, он самый молодой в то время директор в академии наук Украины, благодаря активной жизненной позиции, целеустремленности, трудолюбию сумел преодолеть быстро нараставшие кризисные тенденции в жизни института, сохранить научные кадры, восстановить дух творчества и созидания. На должности директора Виктор Николаевич создал творческую атмосферу, решил много сложных организационных вопросов, что обеспечило сохранение и укрепление позиций института в области физики высоких давлений.

Известен в научном мире пионерскими работами в области физики высоких давлений, металлофизики, сверхпроводимости, физики наноматериалов.

Научная деятельность В.Н. Варюхина связана с изучением поведения материалов при высоких давлениях, разработкой технологий и оборудования, основанных на использовании этого инструментария, и характеризуется органичным сочетанием фундаментальности решаемых задач с практической реализацией полученных результатов. Им исследованы диссипативные явления в напряженно-неоднородных кристаллах, развита теория их пластичности, определены механизмы деформации и разрушения функциональных материалов различной природы. В.Н. Варюхин внес существенный вклад в разработку физических основ материаловедения высокоазотистых аустенитных сталей. На практике реализованы перспективные способы получения из них изделий и полуфабрикатов с высоким уровнем физико-механических свойств. Комплекс работ, посвященных структурной модификации полимеров, позволил не только установить новые физические явления, но и предложить технологические процессы для получения материалов с улучшенными или качественно новыми свойствами. Среди них – технологии изготовления разнообразных изделий с эффектом памяти формы, в том числе с необратимым увеличением объема.

Под руководством В.Н. Варюхина развернуты широкомасштабные исследования новых методов формирования нанокристаллических состояний в материалах, изучения условий их стабильности. Им развит новый подход к формированию наноструктурного состояния функциональных материалов с использованием высоких давлений, который привлек внимание мирового научного сообщества, что было подтверждено контрактами с такими известными организациями, как “Los Alamos National Laboratory”, “General Electric”, “Boeing” (США) и др.

Руководитель научного направления в ГКНТ Украины (1991 — 1996 гг.). Научный руководитель многочисленных научных проектов в целевых программах государственной и ведомственной тематики, совместных проектов с Российским фондом фундаментальных исследований. Член экспертной комиссии при Комитете по государственным премиям Украины в области науки и техники (2010 — 2014 гг.).

Главный редактор (с 1999 г.) научного журнала «Физика и техника высоких давлений», издаваемого ДонФТИ.

В.Н. Варюхин – автор более 20 монографий и учебных пособий, свыше 330 научных работ, 45 патентов на изобретения. Среди его учеников – 4 доктора и 8 кандидатов наук. С 2008 по 2020 год возглавлял созданную по его инициативе кафедру теоретической физики и нанотехнологий физико-технического факультета Донецкого национального университета. Его авторитет как учёного подтверждают и такие факты, как членство в редколлегиях ряда отечественных и зарубежных журналов, вхождение в организационные и программные комитеты многих международных конференций и выступления на них с приглашенными докладами.