Institute directors

Zavadskii Edvald Abramovich

Zavadskii Edvald Abramovich
(02.06.1927 – 22.03.2005)

Director of the Institute since 1986 to 1997.

E.A. Zavadskii was born on June 2, 1927 in Millerovo, Rostov region (RSFSR). In 1955, he graduated from non-residence Dept. of Physics and Mathematics at Orsk State Teacher Institute (Orenburg region, RSFSR). In 1956, he entered postgraduate courses at Institute of Metal Physics of Ural Scientific Center of AS USSR (Sverdlovsk). After the postgraduate courses, since 1959, he worked at the institute as a junior researcher. In 1961, E.A. Zavadskii passed Ph.D. defense and took up a position as a senior researcher. Since 1966 to the last day, all activity of E.A. Zavadskii was related to Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering. Here he rose through the ranks from a senior researcher at the Dept. of Radiospectroscopy (1966), Head of the Dept. of Magnetic Properties of Solids (1969), Vice-Director of Scientific Research (1978) up to the Director of the Institute (1986). More…

Kovtun Nikolay Moiseevich

Kovtun Nikolay Moiseevich
(12.07.1932 – 26.12.2001)

Director of the Institute since 1982 to 1986.

N.M.Kovtun was born on July  12, 1932 in Belenkoe village, Borisov distr.,  Belgorod region (RSFSR). In 1955, after graduation from Dept. of Physics and Mathematics, Kharkov State University, he studied at post-graduate courses and worked as a teacher of the University till 1965. In January – June 1965, he worked at the position of senior researcher, Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering, AS USSR (Kharkov). In 1965 – 1967 and 1969 – 1992. N.M. Kovtun worked at Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering as Vice-Director of Scientific Research, Head of Dept. of resonance phenomena in magnetic semiconductors and dielectrics, Director of the Institute. More…

Galkin Alexandr Alexandrovich

Galkin Alexandr Alexandrovich
(04.07.1914 – 22.10.1982)

Founder and Director of the Institute since 1965 to 1982.

A.A. Galkin was born on July 4, 1914 in Berdyansk (Tauric Governorate). In 1939, he graduated from Kharkov State University. Since 1937, he worked at Kharkov Institute of Physics and Technology of the AS of USSR (Kharkov). On June 1941, he entered Soviet Army as a volunteer. After the graduation from Artillery courses at F.E. Dzerzhinskii Artillery Academy (Moscow), he did military service at West Front Air Defense. In 1945, after army discharge, he returned to Kharkov and worked as a senior researcher. A.A. Galkin passed his Ph.D. defense in 1947, andhe became a Dr. of Sci. in 1955. Since 1956, he was a Professor.  In 1960–1965, he was a deputy director of Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the AS of USSR (Kharkov). А.А. Galkin was a corresponding member of the AS of USSR since 1961, academician of the AS of USSR since 1965. He was the Founder of Don IPE. Since 1965 to the end of his life, A.A. Galkin was the director of Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering. More…

Директора института

Завадский Эдвальд Абрамович

Завадский Эдвальд Абрамович
(02.06.1927 – 22.03.2005)

Директор института с 1986 г. по 1997 г.

Родился 2 июня 1927 в г. Миллерово Ростовской обл. (РСФСР). В 1955 г. окончил экстерном физико-математический факультет Орского государственного педагогического института (Оренбургская обл., РСФСР). В 1956 г. поступил в аспирантуру Института физики металлов Уральского научного центра АН СССР (г. Свердловск), после окончания которой с 1959 г. работал в этом институте младшим научным сотрудником. В 1961 году защитил кандидатскую диссертацию и занял должность старшего научного сотрудника. Начиная с 1966 года и до последнего дня вся творческая жизнь Э.А. Завадского была связана с Донецким физико-техническим институтом. Здесь он прошел путь от старшего научного сотрудника отдела радиоспектроскопии (1966 г.), руководителя отдела магнитных свойств твёрдого тела (1969 г.), заместителя директора по научной работе (1978 г.) и до директора института (1986 г.). Подробнее…

Ковтун Николай Моисеевич

Ковтун Николай Моисеевич
(12.07.1932 – 26.12.2001)

Директор института с 1982 г. по 1986 г.

Родился 12 июля 1932 г. в с. Беленькое Борисовского района Белгородской области (РСФСР). После окончания в 1955 г. физико-математического факультета Харьковского государственного университета учился в аспирантуре и до 1965 г. работал преподавателем университета. С января по июнь 1965 г. занимал должность старшего научного сотрудника Физико-технического института низких температур АН УССР (г. Харьков). С 1965 по 1967 гг. и с 1969 по 1992 гг. работал в Донецком физико-техническом институте на должностях: заместителя директора по научной работе, заведующего отделом резонансных явлений в магнитных полупроводниках и диэлектриках, директора института. Подробнее…

Галкин Александр Александрович

Галкин Александр Александрович
(04.07.1914 – 22.10.1982)

Основатель и директор института с 1965 г. по 1982 г.

Родился 4 июля 1914 г. в г. Бердянск (Таврическая губерния). В 1939 г. окончил Харьковский государственный университет. С 1937 г. работал в Физико-техническом институте АН УССР (г. Харьков). В июне 1941 г. ушёл добровольцем в ряды Советской армии. После окончания курсов арттехников при Артиллерийской Академии им. Ф.Э. Дзержинского (г. Москва) проходил службу в войсках Западного Фронта ПВО ТС. После демобилизации в 1945 году вернулся в харьковский физтех на должность старшего научного сотрудника. Кандидатом физико-математических наук стал в 1947 г., доктором – в 1955 г. Профессор с 1956 г. С 1960 по 1965 гг. занимал должность заместителя директора Физико-технического института низких температур АН УССР (г. Харьков). В 1961 г. А.А. Галкин избран членом-корреспондентом АН УССР, а в 1965 г. – академиком АН УССР. Основатель ДонФТИ. С 1965 г. до конца жизни – директор Донецкого физико-технического института. Подробнее…