About the Institute

Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering named after A.A. Galkin is a foremost academic scientific institution in Donbass. The Institute is a scientific center of fundamental and applied research activity oriented to modern world tendencies of the progress in condensed matter physics, physics and engineering of promising materials with targeted properties.

The Institute was founded in 1965 upon the initiative of an outstanding researcher and scientific institutor Galkin Alexandr Alexandrovich, academician of AS of USSR.  A.A. Galkin headed the Institute to 1982. Since 1994, the Institute is named after him.

Before 2015, the Institute was an institution affiliated with the Branch of Physics and Astronomy of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. On May 2015, the Institute passed under the control of the Ministry of Education and Science of Donetsk People Republic. It was renamed as State Institution “Donetsk Institute for Physics and Engineering named after A.A. Galkin”.

Nowadays the Institute comprises: 7 scientific departments and 2 auxiliary departments, 15 auxiliary subdivisions. The Institute carries out fundamental and applied investigations in the following basic lines of investigation (State Committee for Science and Technology, Order of 03.06.2019 No.29):

  • Physical properties of materials under extreme conditions;
  • Development of physical fundamentals of production of advanced constructional and functional materials.

On December 31, 2018, 254 researchers work in the Institute, including 18 doctors and 50 candidates of sciences. 7 postgraduate students are trained. For the achievements in the field of fundamental investigations and applied developments, 18 researchers of the Institute have been honored with State Science Prizes. 12 scientists nave been awarded by nominal academic prizes. 6 researchers win academic awards for young scientists.

Об Институте

Донецкий физико-технический институт им. А.А. Галкина является крупнейшим  научным учреждением Донбасса академического профиля, научным центром фундаментальных и прикладных исследований, ориентированных на современные мировые тенденции развития физики конденсированного состояния, физики и технологии перспективных материалов с заданными свойствами.

Институт был создан в 1965 году по инициативе выдающегося ученого и организатора науки, академика АН УССР Галкина Александра Александровича, который возглавлял его до 1982 года. С 1994 года институт носит его имя.

До 2015 года институт являлся учреждением Национальной академии наук Украины и входил в состав Отделения физики и астрономии. В мае 2015 года институт перешёл в ведение Министерства образования и науки Донецкой Народной Республики и был переименован в Государственное учреждение «Донецкий физико-технический институт им. А.А. Галкина».

В структуру Института входят: 7 научных отделов, 2 научно-вспомогательных отдела, 15 вспомогательных и прочих подразделений. Институт проводит фундаментальные и прикладные исследования по основным научным направлениям (Приказ ГКНТ ДНР от 03.06.2019 №29):

  • физические свойства материалов в экстремальных условиях;
  • разработка физических основ получения перспективных конструкционных и функциональных, материалов.

На 31.12.2018 г. в институте работают 254 сотрудника, в том числе 18 докторов и 50 кандидатов наук, обучаются 7 аспирантов. За достижения в области фундаментальных исследований и прикладных разработок 18 сотрудников института были удостоены званий лауреатов Государственных премий в области науки и техники, 12 – лауреатов именных академических и др. премий, 6 – лауреатов академической премии для молодых учёных.